Useful Links

Useful Links

Bourne Primary School

Bourne Primary School

01895 462359



RE must be taught in an objective and pluralistic manner, and not as indoctrination into a particular faith or belief.

The aims of the Hillingdon RE curriculum is to:

  • acquire and develop knowledge and understanding of Christianity and other religions, principally Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and Sikhism all of which are represented in Hillingdon
  • learn from different world religions and provide opportunities to explore and express their own responses and personal beliefs
  • understand the relationship between beliefs and practices
  • develop an understanding of the influence of faiths, values and traditions on individuals, communities, societies and cultures
  • develop personal learning and thinking skills pertinent to Religious Education, such as questioning, investigation, communication, expression and evaluation and to promote the ability to make reasoned, critical and informed moral judgements
  • combat prejudice.
  • have an understanding of what it is to be someone of no religious faith.

Further we expect Religious Education to:

  • encourage children and young people to respect and value the right of people to hold differing beliefs, including those with no faith, and to cultivate understanding and respect in a society with a diversity of faiths. And in line with Section 78(1) of the 2002 Education Act to:
  • contribute to the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils and of society, and help prepare children and young people for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.

There are two Attainment targets to assess pupils’ learning against:

AT 1, Learning about religions, is concerned with giving pupils knowledge and understanding of the beliefs, teachings, customs and practices of different world faiths.

AT 2, Learning from religion, is concerned with enabling pupils to explore the ideas and beliefs of different world faiths and their own ideas, attitudes and beliefs.

RE seeks to teach pupils specific skills related to these processes and to foster key attitudes. It covers fundamental questions about life and different responses to them and provides the opportunity for pupils to apply what they have learnt about the different world faiths to their lives and their communities.

RE coverage:

 Early Years Foundation Stage

While the EYFS Framework  does  not  identify RE as statutory  it  includes  statutory standards  with regard to a child’s  Personal, Emotional and Social Development that encompass understanding and respect  for  different  beliefs.  Furthermore  in  relation to Knowledge and Understanding of the World there is a requirement that these children should begin to know about their own cultures and beliefs and those of other people.

Within the two areas, Specialness and Belonging and Community children need to explore their own thoughts, feelings and beliefs and be introduced to those of other people, learning to value diversity and to respect other people’s beliefs and practices.

It is important that the children’s own experiences are the starting point for learning and that they all feel secure and valued. The children in this stage will have varied experiences, beliefs, cultures and ideas. They need to know that their own background and beliefs are recognised and valued while also learning to recognise and value those of other people. Good Religious Education at this stage should provide a forum for everybody to share from his or her culture and beliefs.

The following should be covered in the foundation stage:

EYFS RE - Stepping Stones


Step 1 – Be aware that some places/things/people and times are special. Know some of these that are special for them and their families.

Step 2 – Be aware that different things/places/ people and times can be special for different people. Know about some of these.

Step 3 – Know about some festivals, rituals, people, places and things, the stories behind them and the way they are celebrated or respected.

Belonging and Community

Step 1 – Know some of the groups they personally belong to (eg. Class, school, family, faith, club etc) and their key features.

Step 2 – Know some of the groups other children belong to and some of their key features.

Step 3 – Know about some faith communities and know about a place, story, person from those communities. Know that things change and that some changes are marked with ceremony.

Key Stage 1

Beliefs and Values, Christianity and only one other, from Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism or Sikhism.

Key Stage 2

Beliefs and Values, Christianity and at least two, but no more than three, other religious traditions should be taught.

Schools should monitor to ensure that at least one non-Abrahamic faith has been studied within Key Stages 1 and 2. In addition to the religions below, other religions, philosophies and belief systems may be referred to within this strand. Schools should consider the needs of their communities in both extending their knowledge and understanding of the wide and divergent faiths throughout the known history of man as well as those beliefs and practices within our own cultures.